Visitor:  4599320 Date:  , Nankana Sahib Time :

Sikh MPs Tan Dhesi and Preet Kaur Gill Re-elected in UK Elections

In general election held in England yesterday (December 12), two Sikh MPs who were seeking re-election have registered success.

Tanmanjit Singh Dhesi, who was elected as first Dastar wearing MP to the British Parliament in 2017 has won from his Slough constituency. Tan Dhesi secured 29,421 votes while his nearest contestant and Conservative candidate Kanwar Toor Gill got 15,781 votes. Slough is considered to be Labour stronghold.

Similarly, first Sikh women MP in British Parliament, Preet Kaur Gill has won from Birmingham Edgbaston. She won 21,217 votes, fending off the Tory challenge of Alex Yip, with 15,603. Colin Green, of the Liberal Democrats, achieved 3,349 votes, followed by Phil Simpson, of the Green Party, with 1,112. David Wilks, of the Brexit Party, achieved 1,047 votes. Voters turnout was 61.7 per cent on this seat. Notably, Birmingham Edgbaston was once considered to be a safe Conservative seat, but it returned a Labour MP since 1997.

Featured Columns

“Kesri” – movie vs reality

The “Akshay Kumar” starrer “Kesri”, which reached the cinema theatres in the mid of march 2019, was more...

Muslim Groom Wears Turban To Thank Sikhs Who Spread Peace Amid Delhi Riots

Abdul Hakeem, a Muslim man from Gidderbaha, Punjab, wore a turban to his wedding for a heartwarming reason...

International documentary on Guru Nanak Dev premiered

The first premier of an international documentary on “Guru Nanak-The Founder of Sikhism: Life and Legacy” was...

Blending Traditions, Greek Orthodox Man and Sikh Fiancee Marry Twice

A popular Australian TV show on the SBS network titled ”Marry Me, Marry My Family” aired an episode...